Fun REM Facts: New Orleans Musicians Relief Fund and the Twisted Kites

From The Production Side - Acostill

The Athens, GA natives will release a live album from their recent Dublin performances on October 16 and they just donated a track for the New Orleans Musicians Relief Fund. ((DOWNLOADS)

The band made their first public performance in April of 1980 at a friend’s birthday party.

Before settling on R.E.M., the band considered the names Twisted Kites and Can of Piss.

In May of 1980 R.E.M. headlined their first show at Tyrone’s Club in Athens, GA.

The band open up for The Police in Atlanta in December, 1980.

By April of 1981 they have recorded their first demo.

May, 1982 their debut EP, Chronic Town, is released. Around this time, the band also signs with I.R.S. Records.

R.E.M.’s first full debut, Murmur, is released in April, 1983.

In 1983, the band opens up The Police at Shea Stadium and make their national televsion debut on The Late Show With David Letterman.

Reckoning, the band’s second album, is released on April 16, 1984.

In 1985 the band’s “Preconstruction” college tour previewed songs from their third album, Fables of the Reconstruction.

1986’s Lifes Rich Pageant extended to a wider audience.

1987 was a big year for R.E.M.; they began a U.S. tour in January, a compilation of rarities, Dead Letter Office, is released, as well as, their breakthrough album document·

“The One I Love” reaches #9 on the Billboard charts by December of 1987.

R.E.M. signs with Warner Bros. in June of 1988.

I.R.S. releases the compilation Eponymous in 1988.

Green, the band’s 1988 debut with Warner Bros., would go on to double platinum status.

The single “Shiny Happy People” features Kate Pierson of the B-52’s.
R.E.M. releases their eighth studio album, Automatic for the People on October 6, 1992.

Former Led Zeppelin bassist, John Paul Jones, composed the string arrangements for “Drive”, “The Sidewinder Sleeps Tonite”, “Everybody Hurts” and “Nightswimming”.

In the Kurt Cobain biography, Heavier Than Heaven, it states that Cobain was listening to Automatic for the People before his suicide.
Monster released on September 27, 1994.

“Let Me In” was written about Kurt Cobain, in fact, Cobain;s guitar (a Fender Jag-Stang) was given to Peter Buck and used on this song. The guitar can also be seen in the “What’s The Frequency, Kenneth?” video.

In 1995 R.E.M. embarks on their first tour in six years.

R.E.M. re-signs with Warner Bros. for a reported $80 million contract in 1996.

New Adventues in Hi-Fi is released on September 10, 1986.

Patti Smith appears on the single “E-Bow the Letter”.

Drummer Bill Berry leaves the band in October of 1997.

1998’s Up was the first album without Bill Berry and the first album to come with lyrics.

Up featured drummer Barrett Martin from the Screaming Trees and Beck’s touring drummer Joey Waronker.

The band contributes “The Great Beyond” and wrote the instrumental score for the Andy Kaufman biopic Man on the Moon.

Reveal is released on May 15, 2001.

Warner Bros. releases In Time: The Best of R.E.M. 1988-2003 in October of 2003.

Around the Sun is released on October 5, 2004.

R.E.M. is part of the Vote for Change Tour, touring with Bright Eyes, John Fogerty and Bruce Springsteen and the E-Street Band.

2005 marked the band’s first full length world tour in ten years.

In 2006 And I Feel Fine…The Best of the I.R.S. Years 1982-1987 is released.

On March 12, 2007 the band is inducted to the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame by Eddie Vedder.

The band is currently working on their fourteenth album. (NOMRF Note: to be released in October)

No comments: